Headlines:

Indonesia earthquake: At least 52 killed in Aceh province

Wed 7th Dec 2016 03:12:39 PM

Indonesia earthquake: At least 52 killed in Aceh province

At least 52 people have died on Wednesday when an earthquake of magnitude 6.5 struck off the coast of Indonesia, U.S. Geological Survey and other soruces reported. 
It was reported by Indonesia’s national disaster mitigation agency that 78 people have suffered serious injuries and dozens of people were still trapped in collapsed and damaged buildings.
The quake damaged many homes, shops and mosques in the district of Pidie Jaya, some of which has been completely destroyed.
It was struck around 5 am when many residents were preparing for early morning prayers.
No tsunami warnings or advisories were issued. The epicenter was 12 miles (19 kilometers) southeast of the town of Sigil in Aceh provice.
The quake was another terrifying reminder of the region’s vulnerability to natural disasters. 
In 2004, an earthquake triggered a devastating tsunami which killed more than 10,000 people in Aceh.
“It was very bad, the tremors felt even stronger than 2004 earthquake,” said Musman Aziz, a Meureudu resident.
President Joko Jokowi Widodo ordered all government agencies to take part in the rescue efforts.
Aceh is prone to earthquake since it lies on the northern tip of Sumatra Island.
The world’s largest archipelago, Indonesia is prone to earthquakes due to its location on the Pacific “Ring of Fire,” an arc of Volcanoes and fault lines in the Pacific Basin. 

0 : 0
COMMENT
Current Affairs Editorials

Mishap at Delhi and Goa Airport

Tue 27th Dec 2016 02:12:42 PM

12 years of 2004 Asia Tsunami

Mon 26th Dec 2016 05:12:30 PM

Colombia Plane Crash: With 81 people onboard

Wed 30th Nov 2016 04:11:46 PM

Fidel Castro, Cuban revolutionary dies aged 90

Mon 28th Nov 2016 05:11:12 PM

Moderate Earthquake strikes Nepal

Mon 28th Nov 2016 05:11:25 PM

India Joins CERN as an associate member

Thu 24th Nov 2016 11:11:07 AM

Indore – Patna Train accident

Thu 24th Nov 2016 11:11:33 AM

Economics

Tue 15th Nov 2016 11:11:14 AM

The Biosphere

Sat 12th Nov 2016 11:11:26 AM

Geological History of the Earth

Fri 11th Nov 2016 11:11:09 AM

Pre-History and Proto-History

Thu 10th Nov 2016 12:13:29 PM

Demonetization of Rs. 500 and Rs. 1000 notes

Wed 9th Nov 2016 05:43:50 PM

Schedules of the Constitution

Wed 9th Nov 2016 11:10:17 AM

One day ban on NDTV’s Hindi channel

Tue 8th Nov 2016 12:11:23 PM

Michel Aoun elected as Lebanon President

Mon 7th Nov 2016 11:35:47 AM

One rank One Pension Scheme

Sat 5th Nov 2016 11:16:25 AM

Natural Environment

Sat 5th Nov 2016 11:14:34 AM

Sources of studying history

Fri 4th Nov 2016 11:41:45 AM

Our Planet Earth

Thu 3rd Nov 2016 10:51:26 AM

Economic Planning

Wed 2nd Nov 2016 11:29:16 AM

The Earth

Fri 28th Oct 2016 03:33:38 PM

Constitution Of India

Thu 27th Oct 2016 11:07:10 AM

Concepts Of History

Wed 26th Oct 2016 12:11:30 PM

What Is Economy?

Tue 25th Oct 2016 11:07:54 AM

Battle Of Mosul: Story So Far

Tue 25th Oct 2016 11:06:22 AM

Fertilizer Sales In India

Mon 24th Oct 2016 12:48:15 PM

The Universe

Sat 22nd Oct 2016 11:42:55 AM

India And Myanmar Agreements

Sat 22nd Oct 2016 11:40:21 AM

Indian Cricket Team

Fri 21st Oct 2016 11:20:05 AM

BRICS And BIMSTEC: Talks On Terror And Trade

Thu 20th Oct 2016 11:25:36 AM

Indo-Russia Relations

Thu 20th Oct 2016 11:21:41 AM

Saraswati River

Tue 18th Oct 2016 11:24:06 AM

BRICS

Sat 15th Oct 2016 11:26:10 AM

Internal Trade

Fri 14th Oct 2016 11:27:42 AM

Janani Suraksha Yojana

Thu 13th Oct 2016 11:44:21 AM

GM Mustard

Thu 13th Oct 2016 11:40:05 AM

India and Sri Lanka

Sat 8th Oct 2016 11:22:50 AM

South Asian Economy

Fri 7th Oct 2016 11:37:33 AM

Paris agreement under the United Nations

Thu 6th Oct 2016 12:10:44 PM

Haji Ali Dargah

Wed 5th Oct 2016 11:04:42 AM

US Elections 2016

Tue 4th Oct 2016 11:13:14 AM

Surgical Strike

Sat 1st Oct 2016 10:17:12 AM

Lodha Committee

Fri 30th Sep 2016 11:10:07 AM

SAARC

Thu 29th Sep 2016 10:42:38 AM

PSLV C-35

Wed 28th Sep 2016 12:17:28 PM

Indus Water Treaty

Tue 27th Sep 2016 11:18:47 AM

India and European Union Free Trade Agreement

Mon 26th Sep 2016 10:13:11 AM

UN Assembly and the Kashmir Issue

Sat 24th Sep 2016 10:47:09 AM

Finance Ministry and Railways

Fri 23rd Sep 2016 11:46:03 AM

Andhra Pradesh

Wed 21st Sep 2016 11:05:59 AM

Fruitful talk between India and Nepal

Tue 20th Sep 2016 11:41:19 AM

Sustainable Development Goals

Tue 20th Sep 2016 11:38:46 AM

Judicial Appointment in India

Mon 19th Sep 2016 11:05:20 AM

Indo-Nepal Relations

Sat 17th Sep 2016 10:42:24 AM

NON-ALIGNED MOVEMENT

Thu 15th Sep 2016 10:56:19 AM

Indian Railways: Experiment with flexible fairs

Wed 14th Sep 2016 11:23:14 AM

Palestinian Issue

Wed 14th Sep 2016 10:33:24 AM

Wawrinka wins the U.S Open title

Tue 13th Sep 2016 03:27:56 PM

Syria Crisis

Tue 13th Sep 2016 11:32:50 AM

India and Afghanistan

Tue 13th Sep 2016 11:29:55 AM

India`s stand on Balochistan

Sat 10th Sep 2016 10:48:42 AM

Cauvery Water Dispute

Fri 9th Sep 2016 10:51:50 AM

Strike 2016

Thu 8th Sep 2016 10:54:18 AM

Good and services Tax

Mon 5th Sep 2016 11:06:37 AM

Singur Land Case: Verdict of Supreme Court

Fri 2nd Sep 2016 10:40:09 AM

Fight Against Terror: India and U.S

Thu 1st Sep 2016 11:18:44 AM

With You at Every Step: India and Myanmar.

Wed 31st Aug 2016 11:13:43 AM

Kashmir in constant political turmoil

Wed 31st Aug 2016 11:11:16 AM

Scorpene data leaks: An eye opening incident

Wed 31st Aug 2016 11:10:05 AM

ABOUT US

TrentEd is video based knowledge sharing platform for Civil Services examination preparation. TrentEd videos will cover current affairs, student debates & expert discussions on all major issues of all subjects.

Read More

REACH US AT

B-161, Gautam Nagar, New Delhi,

Delhi-110049, India

+91 011-41000472, +91-9899231947

info@trented.in, raj@trentcom.in

© TrentEd 2015. All Rights Reserved.